Saints-Martyrs-des-Damnés

Réalisation Robin Aubert
Année 2005
Durée 115min
Genre Drame, Horreur
Journaliste dans un tabloïde, Flavien (Chénier) et son photographe et ami Armand (Robitaille) sont envoyés dans un village rural du Québec pour enquêter sur une série de disparitions mystérieuses. Presque aussitôt, les choses commencent à mal tourner et Armand disparaît au cours de leur première nuit en ville.

Les habitants du village forment une drôle de bande : un maire qui gouverne avec une poigne de fer, des jumeaux effrayants qui dirigent un motel, un mécanicien qui porte un masque, une femme qui joue de la guitare aux vaches, et bien d’autres. Mais Flavien ne parvient pas à trouver de l’aide auprès d’eux, tous se montrant suspicieux à son égard, voire carrément agressifs.

Avec un style visuel saisissant et un sens de l’humour décalé, le film va au-delà des limites du film à suspense classique, abordant des questions sur l’identité, la responsabilité et la mort d’une manière rafraîchissante.

Réalisation

Robin Aubert

Scénariste

Robin Aubert

Cast

François Chénier, Isabelle Blais, Sylvie Boucher

Producteurs

Luc Vandal, Roger Frappier

Genres

Drame, Horreur

Thème

Rapports familiaux

Langue originale

Français

Langue du film

Sous-titres EN

Close

SAINTS-MARTYRS-DES-DAMNÉS

(2005)
115 mins | French Language | Offbeat Cinema |
Provincial Ratings
NewfoundlandNR
Nova ScotiaNR
P.E.I.NR
New BrunswickNR
Quebec13+
OntarioNR
ManitobaNR
SaskatchewanNR
AlbertaNR
British ColumbiaNR
Northwest TerritoriesNR
NunavutNR
YukonNR

Director: Robin Aubert

Writer(s): Robin Aubert

Star(s): François Chénier, Isabelle Blais, Patrice Robitaille

Synopsis:

At once creepy and thought-provoking, Saints-Martyrs-des-Damnés is an eerie and playful supernatural thriller.

Tabloid reporter Flavien (Chénier) and his photographer buddy Armand (Robitaille) are dispatched to a rural Quebec village to investigate a series of mysterious disappearances. Almost immediately things begin to go awry, as Armand vanishes on their first night in town.

The town’s inhabitants are a strange group — a mayor who rules with an iron fist, creepy twins who run the motel, a mechanic who wears a mask to hide his face, a woman who plays her guitar to the cows, and many others. But Flavien can’t get anyone to help him, as they all seem suspicious and in some cases downright aggressive toward him.

With an arresting visual style and quirky sense of humour, the film pushes the boundaries of the conventional thriller, tackling questions about identity, responsibility and mortality in a refreshing way.


    About the Director

    Robin Aubert

    Saints-Martyrs-des-Damnés premiered at the 2005 Toronto International Film Festival. Aubert also directed the feature films À quelle heure le train pour nulle part and À l’origine d’un cri, and starred in De père en flic, Tuktuq and critical hit Guibord s’en va-t-en guerre. His latest film, Les Affamés, premiered at TIFF 2017.

    SAINTS-MARTYRS-DES-DAMNÉSSAINTS-MARTYRS-DES-DAMNÉSSAINTS-MARTYRS-DES-DAMNÉS

    Lesson Plans Available for this title:
      No Resources in Database

    Screening Language Options:
    • French Language with English Subtitles

    Copyright 2017 - REEL CANADA 720 Bathurst Street, Suite 504, Toronto, ON M5S 2R4 - Contact Us | Privacy Policy